A visa (from the latin charta visa, meaning "paper which has been seen") is a conditional authorization granted by a country to a foreigner, allowing them to enter, remain within, or to leave that country. Visas typically include limits on the duration of the foreigner's stay, territory within the country they may enter, the dates they may enter, the number of permitted visits or an individual's right to work in the country in question.
A visa generally gives non-citizens clearance to enter a country and to remain there within specified constraints, such as a time frame for entry, a limit on the time spent in the country, and a prohibition against employment. Many countries do not require a visa in some situations; this may be the result of treaties specifying reciprocal arrangements. The possession of a visa is not in itself a guarantee of entry into the country that issued it, and a visa can be revoked at any time.

Visa Types:

Transit Visas. Short Stay or Visitor Visas. Long Stay Visas. Immigrant Visas Official Visas.

On Arrival Visas. Electronic Visas. Electronic Travel Authorizations.

Visa Refusals: Common Reasons:

In general, an applicant may be refused a visa if he or she does not meet the requirements for admission or entry under that country's immigration laws. More specifically, a visa may be denied or refused when the applicant:

  • has committed fraud, deception or misrepresentation in his or her current application as well as in a previous application
  • has obtained a criminal record, has been arrested, or has criminal charges pending
  • is considered to be a threat to national security
  • does not have a good moral character
  • has previous visa/immigration violations (even if the violations didn't happen in the country the applicant is seeking a visa for)
  • had their previous visa application(s) or application for immigration benefits refused and cannot prove that the reasons for the previous refusals no longer exist or are not applicable any more (even if the refusals didn't previously happen in the country the applicant is seeking a visa for)
  • cannot prove to have strong ties to their current country of nationality or residence (for those who are applying for temporary or non-immigrant visas)
  • intends to reside or work permanently in the country she/he will visit if not applying for an immigrant or work visa respectively
  • fails to demonstrate intent to return (for non-immigrants)
  • fails to provide sufficient evidence/documents to prove eligibility for the visa sought after
  • does not have a legitimate reason for the journey
  • has no visible means of sustenance
  • does not have travel arrangements (i.e. transport and lodging) in the destination country
  • does not have health/travel insurance valid for the destination and the duration of stay
  • has a sexually transmitted disease.
  • is applying on excessively short notice without an exceptionally justifiable reason
  • is a citizen of a country to which the destination country is hostile
  • has previously visited, or intends to visit, a country to which the destination country is hostile
  • has a communicable disease, such as tuberculosis
  • has a passport that expires too soon
  • didn't use a previously issued visa at all without a valid reason (e.g., a trip cancellation due to a family emergency)

Even if a traveler does not need a visa, the aforementioned criteria can also be used by border police to refuse the traveler entry into the country in question.

Visa Requirements for Indian Citizens.

Requirements for Indian citizens are administrative entry restrictions by the authorities of other states placed on citizens of India As of 1 January 2017, Indian citizens had visa-free or visa on arrival access to 49 countries and territories, ranking the Indian Passport. 87th in terms of travel freedom (tied with Guinea-Bissauan and Turkmen passports) according to the Henley Visa restrictions index. Visitors engaging in activities other than tourism, including unpaid work, require a visa or work permit except for Nepal and Bhutan . Indian citizens who are not natives of the following states also require an Inner Line Permit (ILP) if they are travelling to Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland or Mizoram. ILPs can be obtained online or at the airports of these states on arrival.

Recent changes – Visas.

Requirements for Indian citizens to have visas were recently lifted by Indonesia, Mozambique, Mauritania, Malaysia and Ukraine[2] (16 April 2017). Starting 8th August 2017, Indian citizens to get visa-free access to Primorye & rest of Khabarovsk, Sakhalin, Chukotka and Kamchatka regions from 2018 in the Russian Far East for Tourism, Business and Humanitarian purposes.[3]. Citizens of India, who have residence permit in the United Arab Emirates, Kingdom of Bahrain, State of Qatar, State of Kuwait and Sultanate of Oman can obtain Armenian entry visa on the border of the Republic of Armenia issued for a maximum stay of 120 days, effective from 22 March, 2017.[4] Indian citizens are eligible for the Australia online visitor visa (e600), effective from 1 July, 2017. Indian travelers are eligible for speedy entry into the United States as India signs Global Entry program.. Qatar has introduced, "Visa on Arrival" for the purpose of Tourism for nationals of India effective from 9th August, 2017. As per the below press release dated 22nd August 2017, Serbia will be abolishing visa requirements for Indian citizens. Starting 1st September 2017, Indian citizens can apply for electronic visa for Kyrgyzstan for tourism and business purposes.